Sidebar

Can we talk?
…Well can we at least think?

‘think before you speak’ is wasted
on those that view integrity
as a staple of the weak
and while I admit
that I too once wore that
on my shield I cannot
understand how one twice
my age can have half
– no –
less than half my hope
trust
faith
or love.

and I don’t think
that I’m asking for
that much,
not like dialogue or anything
though OH could you imagine
the serenity and joy?

you can’t, not right now at least,
and this brings me
battered and exhausted
to what I wish i was
smart enough to communicate
appropriately –

I will never lose hope for you.

I am nothing if not
an idea
that honesty can truly
resolve all conflict –

and you may see me
as overconfident and stupid
but if this isn’t true
then I’m not sure I care
much for this world anyways.

~ by cptgibbs on December 21, 2010.

One Response to “Sidebar”

  1. I LOVE this. Very real. 100% honesty and communication is the key to life 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
