Will Work for Time

I’m the kid that would rather be woken up at 6:00 am by a thunderstorm than 7:00 am by his alarm clock. I’m the kid that blasts punk rock music in the early morning on the drive downtown – smoking a cigarette and only half dressed. I’m the kid you’ll see putting on his dress shirt and socks in the parking garage.

But the second I walk into work, I’m the adult who answers everything with yes sir, yes mam. From the time I arrive to the time I leave I’m the adult who takes everything seriously and gets the job done right the first time. All day I’m the adult that can be knocked down and kicked and spit on, or smiled at and complimented and appreciated and will respond in the same way.

And yeah, after work I’m the kid that just wants a beer again. I play guitar and write and dream and play video games and smoke more cigarettes. More than anything else though, I feel like I’m the guy that is fighting routine with routine so that he can live like an adult, but never forget what it’s like to be a kid.

~ by cptgibbs on July 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
