Apologies in Advance

“The day the child realizes that all adults are imperfect, he becomes an adolescent; the day he forgives them, he becomes an adult. The day he forgives himself, he becomes wise.” -Alden Nowlan

Perhaps the final solution
isn’t as far-fetched as we’d
originally hoped.

When we’re young, we’re told
– no, pushed –
to be the one and only
beautiful/unique/special/incredible
us that we can be.

And we better be damn good at it.

Cause that’s what high school
is all about, right?
(or was that college)
Either way, we’re trying –
I promise.

Second, third, fourth
chances
to figure it out. Who we want
to be; the whole package.

And in our three seconds of fame
where we get that piece of paper
(acknowledgment of achievement – check),
what we really get
is .

I don’t know how
anyone could survive
being cut by a cookie
cutter to fit the desired mold

(you really don’t want
the rest of the dough?
but I spent so long making it…)

More than anything else
I’d just like for one person
to tell me
the truth.

Tell me if my thoughts are useless
Tell me if my writing is pointless
Tell me if my poetry is fucking retarded
Tell me if my twisted empathy is a distraction
Tell me if my passions are paradoxical
Tell me if my hopes are childish
Tell me if my dreams are boring
Tell me if my faith is ill-informed
Tell me if my life is nothing special

and I should just suck it up.

But don’t tell me unless you see it.
Because I swear to God
and everything I pray that He is –
I’m just going to keep doing what I want
until then – we can talk after that.

[tenax propositi, existo decorum vel existo nusquam]

~ by cptgibbs on April 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
