Magic Cue Ball

Graduation is a such a ridiculous concept to try and grasp. Ever since we were kids, all there was was college itself. Whether we were looking forward to it or not, the time came when everyone I knew was forced to uproot and pitch camp in a new lifestyle. Over the course of the next four years, we learned (academic and otherwise), we took risks, we fucked up, and we were rewarded. But the entire time that we were doing this, graduation loomed in the distance as hardly anything more than an idea, a concept. It seemed like it would never come as long as we just kept living for the weekend, for the moment.

Now I have two weeks of classes left in my senior year. In a month I’ll be moving out and trying to make it in the real world. It’s a time of change for every single person that I know, and each one of them (even those feigning excitement) masks nervousness behind their reaction to the topic being brought up.

I’ve never been one to successfully plan out much in my life, but I’ve tried to keep faith through it all that whatever happens, I’ll be in a position to learn as much as possible from wherever I find myself. I have my friends, I have my family, and soon I’ll have two degrees in my hand – I have more than a lot of people do, yet I feel naked and vulnerable to what the future holds. Even law school presents new challenges, the specifics of which I won’t get into now.

The point is that the stakes are getting higher – for everything. Pressure is mounting to stand out now more than ever as the best “X,” the better choice for “Y,” or the creative genius of “Z.” One must remember that without these comparison points we would have no means of realizing our dreams, and therefore they (the standards) must respected. Instead, we should remember that we are well-geared to deal with a wealth of situations, be they social, academic, or professional.

The trick, I think, is to realize that we are only now beginning the true learning process.

~ by cptgibbs on April 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
